Book Michael to speak at your next conference, dinner, meeting or event
Customer Login
Your Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.
Showing 0 of 0 item(s) in your cart.
(ex. Shipping)



There's just one week to go until the recipients of the Australian of the Year Awards 2007 are announced at a ceremony in front of Parliament House, Canberra on Thursday 25 January 2007 .

Who will be honoured as Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia 's Local Hero?

The field of 39 finalists in the four award categories includes Nobel Laureates, a Paralympic champion, a mathematics genius, an environmentalist, indigenous health and education advocates, a philanthropist, a safe driving advocate, community contributors, a man who saved his town from floods waters and an entire town.

The finalists, who all won their category at their State or Territory Awards, come from more than 3,200 nominations submitted by the public last year. Four of the finalists are indigenous Australians; 13 of the finalists are women and 31 were recognised for non-profit, community or civic contributions.

The National Australia Day Council said the finalists in this year's awards are from varied backgrounds but are all inspirational Australians.

"The finalists in this year's awards are a source of pride and inspiration for all Australians," said Tam Johnston, Australian of the Year Awards Program Manager, National Australia Day Council.

"Their achievements, leadership and community contributions are underlined by that very Australian attribute of humility.

"They all do what they do with an unassuming manner, whether they are household names or the person next door."

The finalists for the Australian of the Year Awards 2007 are:

Australian of the Year
ACT Mr Michael Milton OAM - Speed skier and Paralympic champion
NSW Prof Tim Flannery - Scientist, environmentalist, writer
VIC Mr Philip Wollen OAM - Philanthropic humanitarian
QLD Mr David Conry - YoungCare founder
SA Prof Terence Tao - Mathematics genius
WA Prof Barry Marshall & Emeritus Prof Robin Warren - Nobel Laureates, scientists
NT Ms Raymattja Marika - Indigenous teacher, linguist
TAS Dr John Tooth OAM BEM - Dementia care pioneer

No Comments Posted